Menu
News Archive from 2017


Mythopoeic Awards Nominations for 2017 - Deadline Extended

Posted on February 6, 2017 by Lynn Maudlin

Mythopoeic Awards Call for Nominations: Extended Deadline: the NEW deadline is February 24, 2017.

Individual members of the Mythopoeic Society are invited to nominate books for the 2017 Mythopoeic Awards, and/or to volunteer to serve on any of the committees. (You need not join the committee to make nominations.) The deadline for committee volunteers and for nominations (limit of five per person per category, please!) has been extended to February 24, 2017; please send nominations to the awards administrator (see contact info below) via e-mail (preferred) or U.S. mail. Authors, publishers, and their representatives may not nominate their own books for any of the awards. Books published by the Mythopoeic Press are not eligible for the awards. The Mythopoeic Society does not accept or review unsolicited manuscripts.


The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during in 2016 that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”. Books not selected as finalists in the year after publication are eligible for a second year. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for beginning readers to age thirteen, in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees. Books for mature “Young Adults” may be moved to the Adult literature category.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published from 2014 through 2016 are eligible, including finalists for previous years.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

Winners of the 2017 Mythopoeic Awards will be announced at the 48th Annual Mythopoeic Conference (Mythcon 48), to be held July 28-31, 2017 at Champaign-Urbana, Illinois.

Please contact David Oberhelman, the Awards Administrator, to nominate books, volunteer for committees, or ask questions about the Mythopoeic Awards process.

David Oberhelman
306 Edmon Low Library
Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, OK 74078
Email: awards@mythsoc.org


For a list of previous winners and more information, please visit the Mythopoeic Awards section of the site.




Content copyright 1967-2017 The Mythopoeic Society All rights reserved