Menu
Mythopoeic Awards


About the Awards

Please note: The Mythopoeic Society also awards the Alexei Kondratiev Award for the best Student Papers presented at Mythcon. For more information on this award, please follow this link.

Mythopoeic Awards 2021: Finalists announced

Mythopoeic Awards 2021: Winners announced

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during the previous year that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”. Books are eligible for two years after publication unless short-listed during their first year of eligibility. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature was established in 1992 and honors books for younger readers (up to age thirteen) in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award. The question of which category a borderline book belongs to will be decided by consensus of the committees. Books for mature “Young Adults” may be moved to the Adult literature category. From 1971 until 1991, we gave one award for all fantasy literature.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the previous three years are eligible. Short-listed books from the previous year are automatically re-nominated for the next year’s long list.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth & Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award. Short-listed books from the previous year are automatically re-nominated for the next year’s long list.

From 1971 until 1991, the Mythopoeic Scholarship Award was a single award given for Inklings Studies until the establishment of the Myth & Fantasy Studies category. The first award under this new category was given in 1992.

Process

The Mythopoeic Awards are chosen from books nominated by individual members of the Mythopoeic Society. Anyone in the Society can nominate a book to any of the four award categories; selections of finalists and award recipients will be made by the relevant committee, which are comprised of Society volunteers. Authors, publishers, and/or their representatives may not nominate their own books, nor are books published by the Mythopoeic Press eligible. The Mythopoeic Society does not accept or review unsolicited manuscripts.

To nominate books, volunteer for committees, or ask questions about the Mythopoeic Awards process, please contact the Mythopoeic Awards Administrator:


awards@mythsoc.org

When making a nomination, please include the author’s name, the title of the work, the publisher’s name, and the year of publication. For an overview on limitations on voting and/or nominations, see our MSA and MFA Conflict of Interest policy.


Archives





Content copyright 1967- The Mythopoeic Society All rights reserved